Slow functioning thyroid gland

General info

An slow functioning thyroid, also called hypothyroidism, is the most common thyroid disorder in dogs. The normal thyroid gland is responsible for the production and release of sufficient thyroid hormones, which are responsible for regulating various metabolic processes in the body. In the case of hypothyroidism, less thyroid hormone is produced and/or secreted. This gives rise to vague clinical complaints, among which decreased activity, weight gain and skin complaints are the most common.

 

Diagnosis

Therapy

Luie Hond

Most common causes for hypothyroidism in dogs are lymphocytic inflammation of the thyroid gland or a reduced thyroid gland (atrophy). Less common causes are congenital hypothyroidism and acquired central hypothyroidism.

The diagnosis is often based on the presence of clinical symptoms, physical examination and determination of thyroid hormone (total T4) and thyroid stimulating hormone (TSH) in the blood. Typical blood test abnormalities are a decreased total T4 and an increased TSH.

Sometimes the total T4 and/or the TSH are normal, so that the diagnosis is less obvious. This requires additional examinations such as a TSH stimulation test or scintigraphic examination of the thyroid gland. Determinations of other types of thyroid hormone in the blood are not routinely performed.

Hypothyroidism is treated through thyroid hormone supplementation. Therefore, the use of veterinary preparations is important. Upon initiation of medication, a rapid improvement of the clinical symptoms is noted.

Follow-up

Thyroid function should be monitored in the blood through total T4 to determine whether thyroid values have normalized with the medication. This blood test is usually performed 3-4 hours after the administration of the medication.

top of page

Glande thyroïde qui fonctionne lentement

Informations générales

Une glande thyroide qui fonctionne lentement, également appelée hypothyroïdie, est la maladie thyroïdienne le plus courant chez le chien. La glande thyroïde normale est responsable de la production et de la sécrétion d'hormones thyroïdiennes suffisantes, qui sont responsables de la régulation de divers processus métaboliques dans le corps. Dans le cas de l'hypothyroïdie, moins d'hormones thyroïdiennes sont produites et/ou sécrétées. Cela provoque des symptômes vagues comme la diminution de l'activité, la prise de poids et les plaintes de peau.

 

Diagnostic

Thérapie

Luie Hond

Les causes les plus courantes d'hypothyroïdie chez le chien sont l'inflammation lymphocytaire de la glande thyroïde ou une glande thyroïde réduite (atrophie). Les causes moins fréquentes sont l'hypothyroïdie congénitale et l'hypothyroïdie centrale acquise.

Le diagnostic est souvent posé sur des symptômes cliniques, de l'examen physique et de la concentration de l'hormone thyroïdienne (T4) et de la thyréostimuline (TSH) dans le sang. Les anomalies typiques des tests sanguins sont une diminution de la T4 totale et une augmentation de la TSH.

Parfois la T4 totale et/ou la TSH sont normales, de sorte que le diagnostic n'est pas si facile à faire. Cela nécessite des examinations supplémentaires comme un test de stimulation de la TSH ou un examen scintigraphique de la glande thyroïde. Les déterminations d'autres variations de l'hormone thyroïdienne dans le sang ne sont pas effectuées en routine.

L'hypothyroïdie est traitée par une supplémentation en hormones thyroïdiennes. L'utilisation de préparations vétérinaires est importante pour cela. Dès le début du traitement, une amélioration rapide des symptômes cliniques est notée.

Succession

La fonction thyroïdienne doit être surveillée avec des examinations sanguines (T4 total) pour déterminer si les valeurs thyroïdiennes se sont normalisées avec le médicament. Cette examination sanguine est généralement effectué 3 à 4 heures après l'administration du médicament.

bottom of page