top of page

Finalized research

Thyroid cancer in dogs

Sunny 2-Crop&Edit2.jpeg

We recently completed the study on "Improving Treatment of Thyroid Cancer in Dogs. Therefore, currently no new dogs with thyroid cancer can participate in this study. However, dogs with thyroid cancer can still be referred for diagnosis and treatment to the Small Animal Clinic. Doctoral student Stephanie Scheemaeker and her supervisors, Professor Sylvie Daminet and Dr. Kathelijne Peremans, wish to thank all owners, their lovely dogs and veterinarians who contributed to this research. THANK YOU!!!

 

To date, this research has led to three international presentations, namely two at the European and one at the American Small Animal Internal Medicine Congresses (31st ECVIM-CA Congress 2021 and 2023, and ACVIM Forum 2022). In addition, the oral presentation at the ECVIM-CA congress led to the MSD Animal Health Award.

In addition, the study on 'Tru-cut biopsy in dogs with thyroid cancer' was orally presented on the basis of a poster at the Research Day 2023, organized by the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences of Ghent University.

To date, two study parts of the research have already been published in the international veterinary journal 'Veterinary and Comparative Oncology'. In addition, Stephanie successfully defended her PhD on October 2, 2023, with a final public defense on October 27, 2023. An updated bibliography of the study and doctoral work can be found here: 

© 2020 Ghent University

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
bottom of page

top of page

Recherche terminée

Cancer de la thyroïde chez le chien

Sunny 2-Bijgesneden&Bewerkt2.jpeg

Nous avons terminé l'étude sur l'amélioration du traitement du cancer de la thyroïde chez les chiens. Actuellement, aucun nouveau chien atteint d'un cancer de la thyroïde ne peut donc pas participer à cette étude. Toutefois, les chiens atteints d'un cancer de la thyroïde peuvent toujours être référés pour un diagnostic et un traitement à la Clinique des Petits Animaux. Stephanie Scheemaeker, étudiante en doctorat, et ses superviseurs, le professeur Sylvie Daminet et le docteur Kathelijne Peremans, souhaitent profiter de cette occasion pour remercier tous les propriétaires, les gentils chiens et les vétérinaires qui ont contribué à cette étude. MERCI !!!

 

A ce jour, cette recherche a donné lieu à deux présentations internationales, à savoir aux congrès européen et américain de médecine interne des petits animaux (31st ECVIM-CA Congress 2021 et ACVIM Forum 2022). En outre, la présentation orale au congrès ECVIM-CA a donné lieu à l'attribution du prix MSD Animal Health.

En outre, l'étude sur la « Biopsie Tru-cut chez les chiens atteints d'un cancer de la thyroïde » a été présentée oralement sur la base d'un poster lors de la Journée de la Recherche 2023, organisée par la Faculté de Médecine et des Sciences de la Santé, la Faculté de Médecine Vétérinaire et la Faculté de Pharmaceutique. Sciences de l'Université de Gand.

À ce jour, deux parties de la recherche ont déjà été publiées dans la revue vétérinaire internationale « Veterinary and Comparative Oncology ». De plus, Stéphanie a soutenu avec succès son doctorat le 2 octobre 2023, avec une soutenance publique finale le 27 octobre 2023. Une bibliographie mise à jour de l'étude et des travaux de doctorat peut être trouvée ici :

© 2020 Universiteit Gent

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
bottom of page